Proceedings of ICSU Press Workshop


Economics, real costs and benefits of electronic publishing in science - a technical study.

Keble College, University of Oxford UK
31 March to 2 April 1998

Editorial Preface

Dennis Shaw and David Price

This Workshop was planned by a Programme Committee established by ICSU Press to implement recommendation III.3 of the Joint ICSU Press/UNESCO Expert Conference held in UNESCO House, Paris in February 1996. Invitations were sent to all ICSU members and associates, and representatives of  the library and scientific, technical and medical publishing communities who attended the 1996 Conference.  A total of  fifty-five Participants accepted and attended  the Workshop. Financial support towards the cost of the Workshop was generously given by ICSU Press, B.H.Blackwell Ltd., Elsevier Science, Institute of Physics Publishing, and Oxford University Press. As a result of this sponsorship financial support was given to five participants from Latin America.

The Programme included three sessions of invited and contributed papers, two sessions of working group discussions
and concluded with a reporting session after which recommendations were approved.

A dedicated website was established in advance for posting abstracts and comments were invited from those who were unable to attend. This facility was welcomed by many participants and assisted in the distribution of conference material. The members of the Programme Committee are grateful to David Price for maintaining this website.

The Conclusions and Recommendations  were circulated to all participants for agreement prior to publication. These will be included in an Executive Summary which will be submitted to the ICSU Executive Board.

This issue of the Workshop Proceedings includes all contributions received and peer reviewed to date. Not all contributors have yet been able to complete their text and the remainder of the  papers will be published when they are received and confirmed.

Editorial and Programme Committee

Ian Butterworth (
Roger Elliott (
Glyn Jones (
David Price (
John Rodda (
Dennis Shaw, Chairman (
Anthony Watkinson (

Revised: 01 July 1998