Proceedings of ICSU Press Workshop

on

Economics, real costs and benefits of electronic publishing in science - a technical study.

Keble College, University of Oxford UK
31 March to 2 April 1998

 

Registered Participants

The following were registered as participants to attend the Workshop

See the second table for the Participants' contact details

Name Country Affiliation
Atilio Bustos Chile Catholic University, Valparaiso
Mike Bowen USA IUPAC/ACS
Ian Butterworth UK Academia Europea
Virginia Cano UK QMC-Edinburgh
AnaMaria Cetto Mexico COSTED
Mario Chao Cuba Cuban IS&T
Anne Dixon UK Electronic Publisher IOPP
Norihisa Doi Japan Keio University
Bernard Donovan UK ALPSP
Roger Elliott UK ICSU Press
Ken Fulton USA NAS
Richard Gallagher UK SCIENCE Europe Office
Debbie Girdlestone UK IUPHAR
Victor Guerra Ortiz Mexico UNAM
Owen Hanson UK City University, London
Tony Hearn Netherlands Utrecht Astronomical Institute
Suzanne Wilson Higgins UK Blackwells
Kai-Inge Hillerud Sweden ICSU Press/KVA
Tim Hogan UK British Institute of Radiology
Aldyth Holmes Canada National Research Council
Glyn Jones UK Biochemical Society
Elisabeth Kessler Sweden Ambio - KVA
Donald W King USA King Research, Michigan
Ivan Klimes UK Brainwave
Susan Knapp USA American Psychological Assn
Sara Lloyd UK Macmillan Magazines
Tom McIlrath USA APS
William Mischo USA University of Illinois
Howard Moore France UNESCO/ICSU Press
Sally Morris UK John Wiley
Vitaly Nechitailenko Russia ICSU Press/Russian AcadSci
Robert O'Shea UK Lindsay Ross International
Abel L Packer Brazil BIREME/PAHO/WHO
Anant Parekh UK University of Oxford
David Price UK University of Oxford
Carol Priestley UK INASP
David Pullinger UK Macmillan Magazines (Nature)
Martin Richardson UK OUP
John Rodda UK IAHS
Fytton Rowland UK University of Loughborough
Rohini Savoundararadja France ICSU Secretariat
John (Terry) Scott USA ICSTI
Dennis Shaw UK ICSU Press - Keble College
Eefke Smit Netherlands Elsevier Science
Henk Spekreise Netherlands ICSU Press
A.F.Spilhaus Jr. UK AGU
Mike Spinella USA AAAS
Hermann Spruitt Netherlands Elsevier Science
Tetsuo Tamai Japan University of Tokyo
Knud Thomsen Denmark JET Culham
Judith Ugonna UK British Council
Gary VandenBos USA American Psychological Assn
Pierre Verdoodt Belgium Royal Academy of Science etc.
Robert Wappling Sweden Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences
Anthony Watkinson UK Thomson Science

 

Participant Contact Details

Name and Address Telephone Number Fax Number Email Address
D.H. Michael Bowen
8609 Ewing Drive
Bethesda, MD 20817
USA
(301) 530 5764 (301) 530 5764 m_bowen@acs.org
Dr Atilio Bustos
Director Sistema de Biblioteca
Catholic University of Valparaiso
Valparaiso
Chile
00 56 32 273261 00 56 32 273183 m_bowen@acs.org
Professor Ian Butterworth
HEPP Group
Blackett Laboratory
Imperial College
Prince Consort Road
London SW7 2AZ
  0171 823 8830 i.butterworth@ic.ac.uk
Dr Virginia Cano
Research Coordinator
Queen Margaret College
Department of Communication & Information Studies
Clerwood Terrace
Edinburgh
0131 317 3515 0131 316 4165 v.cano@mail.qmced.ac.uk
Professor AnaMaria Cetto
Instituto de Fisica, UNAM
Apartado Postal 20364
Mexico DF 20
525 622 5152 525 622 5015 ana@fenix.ifisicacu.unam.mx
Mr Mario Chao
M & W Manager
Capitolio Nacional
Industria centre fragones y San Jose
La Habana 10200
Cuba
00 537 338237
00 537 603411
  chao@ceniai.inf.cu
Mrs Anne Dixon
Institute of Physics Publishing
Dirac House
Temple Back
Bristol BS1 6BE
  0117 930 1181 anne.dixon@ioppublishing.co.uk
Professor Dr Norihisa Doi
Science Council of Japan and Keio University
262-2 1-103 Morooka-cho
Kohoku-ku
Yokohama 222
Japan
  00 81 45 545 7131 doi@keio.ac.jp
Professor Bernard Donovan
ALPSP
48 Kelsey Lane
Beckenham
Kent BR3 3NE
0181 658 0459 0181 663 3583 donovan@alpsp.demon.co.uk
Professor Sir Roger Elliott
Department of Theoretical Physics
University of Oxford
1 Keble Road
Oxford OX1 3NP
01865 273997 01865 273947 mbarnes1@physics.ox.ac.uk
Kenneth R. Fulton
Executive Director
National Academy of Sciences
2101 Constitution Avenue, NW
Washington DC 20418
USA
001 (202) 344-2446 001 202 334 2153 kfulton@nas.edu
Dr Richard Gallagher
Office Head and Senior Editor
Science Europe Office
Thomas House
George IV Street
Cambridge CB2 1HH
  01223 302068 rgallagh@science-int.co.uk
Dr Deborah Girdlestone
Consultant Editor
IUPHAR Media
68 Half Moon Lane
London SE24 9JE
0171 737 8282 0171 274 9687 d.girdlestone@kcl.ac.uk
Dr Victor Guerra Ortiz
Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico
Coordinacion de Servicios Academicos
Circuito de la Investigacion Cientifica
CD Universitaria
DP 4510 Mexico City
00 525 622 4181 00 525 616 2557 vguerra@servidor.unam.mx
Professor Owen Hanson
Centre of Business Systems Applications
City University
Northampton Square
London EC1V 0HB
0171 477 8403 0171 477 8395 sb319@city.ac.uk
Professor A.G. Hearn
Astronomical Institute
Postbus 80000
3508 TA Utrecht
The Netherlands
  00 31 30 253 5201 ahearn@fys.ruu.nl
Mrs Suzanne Wilson-Higgins
B.H. Blackwell Ltd
Beaver House
Hythe Bridge Street
Oxford OX1 2ET
01865 261327
01865 262534 (direct)
01865 262503 suzanne.wilson-higgins@blackwell.co.uk
Mr Kai-Inge Hillerud
Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences
Box 50005
S-10405 Stockholm
Sweden
    kai@interset.kva.se
Dr Tim Hogan
Publications Manager
British Institute of Radiology
36 Portland Place
London W1N 4AT
  0171 255 3209 tim.hogan@dial.pipex.com
Mrs Aldyth Holmes
Director, NRC Research Press
National Research Council Canada
Bldg M-55, 1200 Montreal Road
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0S2
Canada
  001 613 952 7656 aldyth.holmes@nrc.ca
Mr Glyn D. Jones
The Biochemical Society/Portland Press
59 Portland Place
London WC1N 3AJ
  0171 580 5530 glynj@biochemsoc.org.uk
Ms. Elisabeth Kessler
Editor in Chief, AMBIO
Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences
Box 50005
S-10405 Stockholm
Sweden
  00 46 8 166251 elisabet@ambio.kva.se
Donald W. King
King Research
4915 Gullane Drive
Ann Arbor, MI 48103
USA
00 1 734 327 9709 001 734 327 9709
(call first to set)
jmgriff@umich.edu
(care of)
Dr Ivan Klimes
33 Abberbury Road
Iffley Village
Oxford OX4 4ET
01865 774643 01865 396565 klimes@dial.pipex.com
Ms Susan Knapp
Director of Publications
American Psychological Association
750 First Street NE
Washington DC 20002-4242
  00 1 202 336 5549 skk.apa@email.apa.org
Ms Sally Lloyd
Macmillan Magazines
Porters South
Crinan Street
London N1
0171 843 4912 0171 843 4766  
Professor Thomas McIlrath
Treasurer
American Physical Society
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD 20740-3844
USA
(301) 209 3220 (301) 209 0844 mcilrath@aps.org
Professor William H. Mischo
Engineering Library
University of Illinois
Urbana, IL 61801
USA
(217) 333 7597 (217) 244 7764 w.mischo@uiuc.edu
Dr Howard J. Moore
Chief, Science Publications Unit
UNESCO
1 rue Miollis
75732 Paris Cedex 15
France
00 33 1 45 68 41 44 00 33 01 45 68 58 23 h.moore@unesco.org
Ms. Sally Morris
John Wiley & Sons Ltd
Baffins Lane
Chichester
West Sussex PO19 1UD
  01243 770429 smorris@wiley.co.uk
Prof. Graciela Munoz, M.S
Scientific Editor
Electronic Journal of Biotechnology
Catholic University of Valparaiso
Valparaiso
Chile
56-32-273120 56-32-212746 gmunoz@ucv.cl
Dr Vitaly Nechitailenko
National Geophysical Committee
Russian Academy of Sciences
Molodezhnaya 3
117296 Moscow
Russia
7 095 930 5649 7 095 930 5509 vitaly@wdco.rissi.ru
Dr Robert O’Shea
Lindsay Ross International
Foxcombe Court
Abingdon Business Park
Abingdon
Oxfordshire OX14 1GA
01235 544400 01235 550559 rso@lrl.com
Mr Abel Packer, MLS
Pan American Health Organisation/WHO
Rua Botucatu, 862 – Vila Clementino
04023-901 Sao Paulo
SP Brasil
00 55 11 5769819 00 55 11 5711919 abel@bireme.br
scielo page: www.bireme.br/scielo
Dr Anant Parekh
Department of Physiology
Parks Road
Oxford OX1 3PY
01865 272439 01865 272469 anant.parekh@keb.ox.ac.uk
Mr David J. Price
Radcliffe Science Library
University of Oxford
Parks Road
Oxford OX1 3QP
01865 01865 272821 djp@bodley.ox.ac.uk
Ms Carol Priestley
INASP
P.O. Box 2564
London W5 1ZD
  0181 997 3274 inasp@gn.apc.org
Mr David Pullinger
Macmillan Magazines
Porters South
Crinan Street
London N1
0171 843 4764 0171 843 4766 d.pullinger@nature.com
Mr Martin Richardson
Journal Director
Oxford University Press
Great Clarendon Street
Oxford OX2 6DP
  01865 267985 richarm@oup.co.uk
Dr John C. Rodda
IAHS
Ynyslas
Brightwell cum Sotwell
Oxfordshire OX10 0RG
01491 837539 01491 692430 106201.1774@compuserve.com
Mr Fytton Rowland
Department of Information & Library Studies
Loughborough University
Loughborough
Leicestershire LE11 3TU
  01509 223053 j.f.rowland@lboro.ac.uk
Mrs Rohini Savounadarardja
ICSU Secretariat
52 Blvd. De Montmorency
75016 Paris
France
00 33 1 45 25 03 29 00 33 1 42 88 94 31  
Dr John T. Scott
(American Institute of Physics)
73 Winsor Place
Glen Ridge, NJ 07028
USA
  00 1 516 576 2450 jscott@aip.org
Dr Dennis Shaw
ICSU Press Workshop
Keble College
Oxford OX1 3PG
01865 515521 01865 272705 dennis.shaw@keb.ox.ac.uk
Drs Eefke Smit
Elsevier Science BV
Sara Burgerhartstraat 25
1055 KV Amsterdam
The Netherlands
00 31 20 485 2473 00 31 20 485 2616 e.smit@elsevier.nl
Dr Henk Spekreijse
Netherlands Opthalmic Research Institute
Vision Research
P.O. Box 12011
1100 AA Amsterdam ZO
The Netherlands
00 31 20 566 4584 00 31 20 691 6521  
Dr. A.F. Spilhaus, Jr
Executive Director
American Geophysical Union
2000 Florida Ave., NW
Washington, DC 20009
USA
  00 1 202 328 0566 fspilhaus@kosmos.agu.org
Mr Mike Spinella
AAAS Membership Director
1200 New York Avenue, NW
Washington DC 20005
USA
00 1 202 326 6424 00 1 202 842 1065 mspinell@aaas.org
Dr Herman P. Spruijt
Elsevier Science BV
Sara Burgerhartstraat 25
1055 KV Amsterdam
The Netherlands
00 31 20 5862 911 00 31 20 5862 843  
Professor Tetsuo Tamai
Graduate School of Arts & Sciences
University of Tokyo
3-8-1 Komaba, Meguro-ku
Japan
00 81 3 5454 6847 00 81 3 3645 6845 tamai@graco.c.u-tokyo.ac.jp
Dr Knud Thomsen
JET Joint Undertaking
Abingdon
Oxfordshire OX14 3EA
  01235 464410 kt@jet.uk
Mrs Judith Ugonna
British Council
Bridgewater House
58 Whitworth Street
Manchester M1 6BB
  0161 957 7168 judy.ugonna@britcoun.org
Professor Gary R. VandenBos
American Psychological Association
750 First Street, NE
Washington DC 20002-4242
USA
202-336 5795 202-336 5630 gary@apa.org
Drs. Pierre A. Verdoodt
Royal Belgium Academy of Sciences
Paleis der Academien
Hertogsstraat 1
B-1000 Brussels
Belgium
32-2 5502323 00 32 2 550 23 35 kawlsk@skynet.be
Mr Roger Wappling
Managing Editor
Physica Scripta
Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences
P.O.Box 50005
S-104 05 Stockholm
Sweden
  00 46 8 67 39590 rogerw@fysik.uu.se
Mr Anthony Watkinson
Intellectual Property Director
Thomson Science
2-6 Boundary Row
London SE1 8HN
  0171 522 9626 anthony.watkinson@chall.co.uk
Last updated : 23 July 1998
Copyright 1998 ICSU Press and individual authors. All rights reserved